Other Minnesota State and Local Government sites | Employment Opportunities | Home

The Office of the State Auditor has a long history, dating back before Minnesota’s entry into the Union. Prior to statehood, when Minnesota was a United States territory, there were four territorial auditors, officials charged with ensuring that the territorial and county governments’ finances were in order and handled properly. This continued when Minnesota became a state in 1858.

After statehood was granted, the duties of the constitutional office of State Auditor included functioning as a controller for the executive branch of state government, approving expenditures in advance, and overseeing county finances. In 1973 the State Legislature incorporated the county audit duties of the Public Examiner into the Office of the State Auditor. Since then the primary focus of the State Auditor has been auditing and overseeing county audits and local government finances. The Office of the Legislative Auditor was then charged with auditing state agencies and making recommendations for study topics to the Legislative Audit Commission. The post of Public Examiner was eliminated in the 1973 reorganization.

Minnesota State Auditors Since 1858

Name Residence    Assumed Office
Julie Blaha Ramsey    January 7, 2019
Rebecca Otto Marine on St. Croix    January 2, 2007
Patricia Anderson Eagan    January 6, 2003
Judith H. Dutcher Minnetonka    January 3, 1995
Mark Dayton Minneapolis    January 7, 1991
Arne H. Carlson Roseville    January 4, 1979
Robert W. Mattson St. Paul    January 6, 1975
Rolland F. Hatfield St. Paul    January 4, 1971
William J. O'Brien Mendota Heights    March 7, 1969
Stafford King St. Paul    January 6, 1931
Ray P. Chase Anoka    January 5, 1921
J. A. O. Preus Minneapolis    January 5, 1915
Samuel G. Iverson Rushford    January 5, 1903
Robert C. Dunn Princeton    January 7, 1895
Adolph Biermann Rochester    January 5, 1891
W. W. Braden Preston    January 10, 1882
O. P. Whitcomb Rochester    January 13, 1873
Charles McIlrath St. Paul    January 1, 1861
W. F. Dunbar Caledonia    May 24, 1858
Territorial State Auditors
Julius Georgii St. Paul    January 17, 1854
Socrates Nelson Stillwater    May 15, 1853
Abraham Van Vorhees Stillwater    November 30, 1852
Jonathan McKusick Stillwater    November 3, 1849

Privacy Policy | Accessibility Information | © 2020 Office of the Minnesota State Auditor